Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

The books in order?

A reader asks, "What is the actual order of the books you've written? I'm interested in the process."

That's an interesting question, as they're not published in anything like the order in which they were written!

In order of writing, my books are

Black Ships
Fortune's Wheel
Hand of Isis
Stealing Fire
The Companion (not yet sold, the sequel to Fortune's Wheel)
Death Game
The Lost
The Avengers
Lost Things (with Melissa Scott, not yet sold)
Moebius Squared
Sword Queen (not yet sold, sequel to Fortune's Wheel and The Companion)

The Ravens of Falkenau and Other Stories was written throughout this time. The main novella, The Ravens of Falkenau, was written before Black Ships.

Also there are several other books begun but not yet finished, including Steel Blues, the sequel to Lost Things. Ideally that's a three book set, Lost Things, Steel Blues, and Silver Bullet, set in the 1920s and 30s with aviators, occultists, Jackie Cochran, Nikola Tesla, airships, archaeologists, and a good deal more. Melissa and I have our fingers crossed that it will sell!


Aug. 18th, 2011 03:59 pm (UTC)
Airships and archaeologists? Gimme!
I'm an archaeologist myself, so sat up rather sharply at that one!
Aug. 18th, 2011 04:36 pm (UTC)
*g* Lost Things is so much fun! It's set in 1929 and begins with the Lake Nemi dig. Jerry Ballard is an archaeologist who lost his leg in World War I and has been out of the field ever since, but when the dig accidentally releases an animus infernus trapped since the time of Claudius, Jerry and his friends have to stop it.

Mitchell Sorley is a flying ace, an all-American boy with a dark secret. Alma Gilchrist is a widowed aviatrix with secrets of her own and Lewis Segura is another former pilot trying to get back on his feet, a man with a destiny he himself does not understand, a connection to the Shrine at Aricia that may prove both critical and deadly.